Curriculum Vitae

 

 

 

Born 1987  Youngstown, OH

 

Education

2015  Honors, BFA Visual Critical Studies, School of Visual Arts, New York, NY

 

Workshops

Artist Devon Watson presents, Hand Hear Eye Phone, a workshop that focuses on the contemporary smart phone. Saturday, June 4th, 2016 from 1:30 PM – 3:30 PM, Gowanus E-Waste Warehouse, 469 President St Brooklyn, NY 11215

 

Exhibitions

2016 EnTitlement, 585 Park Pl, Brooklyn NY

2016 The B-Sides, Gallery Petite, Brooklyn NY

2016  Sincerity (The Post-Americans),  272 Seigel, Brooklyn, NY

2015  Reply All, Inaugural show, curated by Peter Hristoff, VCS Gallery, New York, NY

2015  Carnivalesque, SVA Flatiron Gallery, New York, NY

 

Exhibitions Curated

2016  Sincerity (The Post-Americans)  272 Seigel, Brooklyn, NY


Bibliography, Authored Articles

Watson, Devon (25 July, 2016). Inside the embroidery paintings of Caroline Larsen. Art Report , http://artreport.com/inside-the-embroidery-paintings-of-caroline-larsen/

Watson, Devon (20 July, 2016). Michael De Feo in the garden of commerce. Art Report,http://artreport.com/michael-de-feo-garden-commerce/

Watson, Devon (27 June, 2016). Anne Mondro, defiant fragility and infinite knots. Art Report,http://artreport.com/anne-mondro-defiant-fragility-infinite-knots/

Watson, Devon (18 June, 2016). Marcos Amaro’s sculptures, and the buoyancy of crumpled planes. Art Reporthttp://artreport.com/marcos-amaros-sculptures-buoyancy-crumpled-planes/

Watson, Devon (9 June, 2016). Artist Lala Abaddon’s photographs weave her way to stardom. Art Report TV,http://artreport.com/artist-lala-abaddons-photographs-weave-her-way-to-stardom/

Watson, Devon. (30 May 2016). Kim Brandt Changing performance Landscapes at Pioneer Works. Art Report. http://artreport.com/kim-brandt-changing-performance-landscapes-at-pioneer-works/

Watson, Devon (25 May 2016). A Fountain of Tears Along the Mexican Border. Art Report. http://artreport.com/a-fountain-of-tears-along-the-mexican-border/

Watson, Devon (13 May 2016). The new essential female artists to follow on Instagram in 2016.  Art Report. http://artreport.com/the-new-essential-female-artists-to-follow-on-instagram-in-2016/

Watson, Devon (5 May 2016). Marianne Boesky Gallery commemorates Thorton Dial. Art Report. http://artreport.com/marianne-boesky-gallery-commemorates-thorton-dial/

Watson, Devon (5 May 2016). A comedy of luxury at be my guest: The art of interiors. Art Report. http://artreport.com/a-comedy-of-luxury-at-be-my-guest-the-art-of-interiors/ 


Residencies

2015  Dept. of Signs and Symbols, Dumbo, Brookyln, NY

 

Professional Affiliations

Member of DEP ART, a nomadic curatorial collective.   www.dep-art.org

 

Distinctions

2014  Recipient of SVA School Grant

2013 Travel Study, Art History. Sicily, Italy